News Releases
In the News...
State Parties
E-mail News and Discussion Services
Archived Articles
Interesting Links

Email Friend

Minutes of the Operating Committee of the America First Party

Tuesday, May 9, 2006

BE IT REMEMBERED that the Operating Committee of the America First Party met on Tuesday, May 9, 2006 at 9:00 p.m. East Coast Time, pursuant to the previous resolution of the Operating Committee.

The Chairman led the members in the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Hey delivered the invocation.

The Secretary called the roll of Operating Committee members:


  • Dan Charles of Colorado, Chairman
  • John Pittman Hey of Mississippi, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Tom White of Massachusetts, Party Building Committee Chairman
  • Romelle Winters of New Hampshire, Public Relations Committee Chairman
  • Larry Carroll of Colorado, Platform Committee Chairman


  • Jon Hill of Massachusetts, Vice-chairman
  • Trey Golmon of Mississippi, Ballot Access Committee Chairman

Mr. Joe Spitzig, Convention Committee chairman, attended as a guest.

A quorum being present, the meeting was called to order by the Chairman at 9:21 p.m.

Mrs. Winters moved the adoption of the standard Agenda. Mr. White seconded the motion. The Agenda was adopted by unanimous vote.

The Chairman delivered his report. He has been fielding telephone calls, as well as continuing work on convention, finance, and public relations related business. The Chairman explained that the National Committee would need to meet next week for a short teleconference meeting.

A discussion was had of the standing committee meetings that may take place on Friday, June 2 just before the convention in Cincinnati.

The Secretary reminded the members that he had previously circulated draft minutes for the May 2, 2006 meeting of the Operating Committee. Mr. Hey moved the adoption of the minutes as published. His motion was seconded by Mrs. Winters, and adopted by unanimous vote, Mrs. Winters abstaining.

The Secretary reported that the 70 FAFP packets and 179 thank-you letters to donors for the month of April have been mailed.

The Treasurer reported that the party's bank balance is $3862.51. There is a printing invoice for $9220 now due to be paid. The April FEC report has been filed and may be viewed on the FEC web site.

Mr. Spitzig delivered the Convention Committee report. Work is progressing on getting a copier for the convention's use. A discussion was held regarding details of the Convention meeting.

Mr. White is re-contacting many persons who expressed interest in party building and hopes to have some figures ready by the next meeting.

A discussion was held regarding party building issues.

Mr. Carroll reported that a Platform Committee meeting will take place this Saturday.

Mrs. Winters reported that the Public Relations Committee will be meeting later this week to finalize the next newsletter.

Mr. Charles reported that the Rules Committee will be meeting next Monday to finish work on the standing rules for the convention.

Mr. Hey moved that the Operating Committee refer the following resolution to the National Committee for its adoption: "Resolved, that the National Committee hereby calls an in-person meeting for 8:30 a.m. local time, June 3rd, 2006 at the Drawbridge Inn, Fort Mitchell, Kentucky." His motion was seconded by Mrs. Winters and adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Hey moved that a teleconference meeting of the National Committee be called for Tuesday evening, May 16, 2006 at 9 p.m. East Coast time. His motion was seconded by Mrs. Winters and adopted by unanimous vote.

There being no further business, upon motion made by Mr. Hey, seconded by Mrs. Winters, and adopted by unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned at 10:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

John Pittman Hey
National Secretary
America First National Committee

America First Party ~ 405 River Road ~ Greenwood, Mississippi 38930
Telephone (866) SOS-USA1 ~ Fax (662) 453-7787 ~ E-mail
Paid for by the America First National Committee
John Pittman Hey, National Treasurer
Copyright © 2002-2016 by the America First National Committee. All Rights Reserved.